Click below to go to Drive
NOTE: Gmail is not currently activated for students
Getting Started with the G Suite
The G Suite, formerly Google Apps for Education, contains tools that support teaching and learning. Below are resources to help you get started with G Suite. Click an icon to be taken to the Get started with... page for that product in the G Suite Learning Center.
Organizing My Drive
Drive is an awesome collaboration tool. Part of collaborating is sharing items among collaborator. In Drive there are three levels of permissions for sharing.
Shared with me
Shared with Me shows files and folders that you do not own, but that have been shared with you. You may have permission to view them, comment on them, or edit them. By clicking Shared with me in the left sidebar, you will see these files and folders. By default, Shared with me is sorted with the most recent shared items at the top.
Shared with me only lists files and folders that are specifically shared with you, that is, files and folders that the owner has added your email address to in the Share settings. Files that are set to “Anyone with the link” or “Anyone in your organization” are not included.
Add to My Drive
Items in Shared with me cannot be organized. You cannot create folders in this area of Drive. Shared with me operates as a running list of items (shared with you by others). At times you may want to add a shared item to your Drive. Doing this will make it possible to organize the item for quicker access at a later time.
Google Drive has a tool called Add to My Drive to support you in doing this.
When you use Add to My Drive you are making a 'shortcut' link to the shared item. The shortcut link is added to your My Drive area by default. Once the shortcut is added to your My Drive you can drag and drop it into any folder without impacting the location of the original item in the original owner's Drive.
Follow the instructions below to use Add to My Drive to add an item to your My Drive: